Delaware Stonewall PAC hosts fundraiser and approves applicants


Delaware Stonewall PAC held its 18th annual Summer Funder on August 13 at Shrimpy’s Bar and Grill in Rehoboth. As a political action committee whose mission is to help elect candidates who support equality, fairness and opportunity for all, Delaware Stonewall PAC honored local pioneers and announced its endorsement of candidates for the 2022 election cycle.

The event brought together more than 130 residents of Kent, Sussex and New Castle counties, and featured a keynote address from State Senator Marie Pinkney, D-Bear. Awards for civil and human rights pioneers were presented to Murray Archibald, co-founder of CAMP Rehoboth; C. Dixon Osburn, co-founder of the Servicemembers Legal Defense Network, which fought to overturn the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell policy; and Charlotte King, founder of the Southern Delaware Alliance for Racial Justice.

“I was thrilled to see the tremendous turnout, which I think reflects how critical your mission of promoting acceptance and equality is during this troubled time in our nation’s history. Keep up this good work! I’m proud to stand by your side, not just as an ally, but as a defender! said Sen. Trey Paradee, D-Cheswold.

Many state officials were in attendance, including the presenters, Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long and State Treasurer Colleen Davis.

“Your approval means so much to me, and I proudly announce it to our constituents. It is truly an honor to have received your stamp of approval. I look forward to continued partnership. I am committed to using my platform to stand up for our LGBTQ+ communities,” Davis said.

Delaware Stonewall PAC endorsement is based on a candidate’s voting history for questions that align with the PAC’s mission statement, demonstrated commitment to supporting the PAC’s mission, and/or positive survey responses with the candidates. Vice President Tara Sheldon said, “We take these commitments seriously and believe the candidates we endorse will work, once elected, toward the goals we have set for ourselves to protect the lives of LGBTQ+ citizens of all ages.

Delaware Stonewall PAC endorses the following candidates for the Sept. 13 primaries:

State Auditor, Lydia York; New Castle County District 1, Brandon Toole; Senate District 6, Russ Huxtable; DS14, Kyra Hoffner; District 1 Representative, Shané Darby; RD 6, Becca Cotto; RD 13, From Shanna Neal; RD 18, Sophie Phillips; RD 25, Cyndie Romer; RD 26, Medina Wilson-Anton; RD 27, Eric Morrison; and RD 32, Kerri Evelyn Harris.

The entries for the general election (to be updated after the primaries) are: Congress, Lisa Blunt Rochester; Delaware State Treasurer Colleen Davis; Kent County Sheriff Brian E. Lewis; DS1, Sarah McBride; DS 13, Mary Pinkney; RD 23, Paul Baumbach; DS 5, Kyle Evans Gay; SD 7, Spiros Mantzavinos; SD 8, David P. Sokola; DS 11, Bryan Townsend; SD 17, Trey Pass; RD 4, Keegan Worley; RD 9, Terrell A. Williams; RD 20, Stella Parker Selby; RD 21, Frank Burns; and RD 39, Susan Clifford.

Delaware Stonewall PAC President Dwayne Bensing said, “We have been very encouraged that so many candidates have sought our endorsement and pledged to serve our vast intersectional community. We look forward to announcing further endorsements after the primary and working with these candidates and other elected allies to pass inclusive and pro-LGBTQ+ equality legislation.

Applicants who wish to be considered for Stonewall endorsement are invited to complete the Applicant Survey at

Further information on the Delaware Stonewall PAC and the current slate of nominees can be found at


Comments are closed.