Punjab elections 2022: PAA publishes 4th list of 15 candidates ahead of elections


Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal | Photo credit: ANI

Chandigarh: The Aam Aadmi party released a new list of 15 candidates for the upcoming Punjab Assembly elections on Sunday. Ahead of the elections in February or March next year, the party published four such lists, with a total of 73 names. The party has yet to nominate a chief ministerial candidate in the state.

The new slate of candidates includes Ranjit Singh Rana, Inderjit Kaur Maan, Gurdhian Singh Multani, Karamvir Singh Ghumman, Jasvir Singh Raja Gill, Dinesh Chadha, Lakhbir Singh Rai, Tarunpreet Singh Sondh, Hakam Singh Thekedar, Devinder Singh Gold’epakhhd ‘Amande Musafir, Dr Vijay Singla, Narinder Kaur Bharaj and Kuljit Singh Randhawa.

The party published its third list two days ago on December 24.

In the 2017 polls, Congress won an absolute majority with 77 seats, while the AAP became the second-largest party with 20 seats out of 117 members of the Punjab legislature. In recent months, however, the political landscape in Punjab has changed dramatically, with new parties entering the fray and new alliances and divisions forming.

Addressing a rally in the Punjab on Saturday, Aam Aadmi party leader Arvind Kejriwal assured Anganwadi and ASHA workers in the state that the party would solve their problems if elected to power. Previously, he announced several guarantees for state teachers, including regularizing contract teachers and changing transfer policy. Delhi’s chief minister also joined a protest by teachers against Charanjit Channi’s government last month. Previously, he had also provided initiatives such as free health care for the citizens of Punjab, Rs 1000 per month for each woman, and more.


Comments are closed.