Republican candidates in Alabama far outnumber Democrats as qualifying for May 24 primary winds down


Republican primary voters in Alabama will have the final say in eight of the statewide races on the ballot this year as no Democrats have registered to run.

Today was the deadline for candidates to complete their paperwork and pay their qualifying fee with both state parties to participate in the primary, which is May 24.

Fifteen candidates qualified to run for the Republican nomination in the top two races on the ballot.

Republican Governor Kay Ivey has drawn eight challengers to her party. Six Republicans are vying for the US Senate seat which opens with Senator Richard Shelby retiring after this year.

Six Democrats qualified to run for governor. But it will be the only statewide contested race for Democrats in the primary. No other statewide race has attracted more than one Democratic qualifier.

Today’s deadline does not apply to races for the United States House. A federal court extended that until Feb. 11 in a lawsuit over how the Legislature redistributed Alabama’s seven congressional districts after the 2020 census.

US Senate

Top candidates have been campaigning for months in the race that has drawn six GOP qualifiers and no Democrats.

The Republican qualifiers are former Shelby Chief of Staff and Alabama Business Council Chief Katie Britt, Congressman Mo Brooks of Huntsville, and former US Airman and businessman. Army Mike Durant. The others are Lillie Boddie, Karla M. Dupriest and Jake Schafer.


Ivey, who became governor when Robert Bentley stepped down in 2017 and was elected in 2018, is seeking a second full term.

The other GOP nominees are former Trump administration ambassador to Slovenia Lindy Blanchard; Lew Burdette, president of King’s Home, a program for abused women and children; corrections officer and former Morgan County Commissioner Stacy Lee George; toll bridge developer Tim James; Opelika Pastor Dean Odle; Springville Mayor and former State Representative Dave Thomas; Dean Young, Orange Beach businessman and former congressional candidate, and Donald Trent Jones.

The qualified Democrats are retired educator Yolanda Flowers of Birmingham, Patricia Salter Jamieson, Arthur Kennedy, businessman Chad “Chig” Martin of Enterprise, state senator and lawyer Malika Sanders Fortier of Selma and Doug “New Blue” Smith.

lieutenant governor

Republican Lieutenant Governor Will Ainsworth is seeking a second term. Ainsworth was the only Republican qualifier.

No Democrats qualified for the race.

Attorney General

Attorney General Steve Marshall, a Republican, is seeking a second full term. Marshall was nominated by Governor Robert Bentley to fill a vacancy in 2017 and elected to a full term in 2018.

Harry Bartlett Still III qualified to run for the Republican nomination against Marshall.

Wendell Major has qualified to run in the Democratic primary.

Secretary of State

Four Republicans qualified to run for the open seat. Twice-elected Secretary of State John Merrill was unable to run due to term limits.

The Republican qualifiers are Rep. Wes Allen of Troy, Christian Horn, Ed Packard, a former election official in the secretary of state’s office, and state auditor Jim Zeigler.

Patricia J. Laffitte qualified for the race for Secretary of State in the Democratic primary.

State Treasurer

State Treasurer Young Boozer is running for the Republican nomination for what would be a third full term in office. Boozer, a former banker, was elected treasurer twice, from 2011 to 2019. Boozer returned to office last year when Governor Kay Ivey nominated him to replace state treasurer John McMillan, who was named executive director of the Alabama Medical Cannabis Commission. .

Boozer has no opposition to the Republican nomination.

There were no qualifiers within the Democratic Party.

Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries

Commissioner Rick Pate, a Republican elected in 2018, is seeking a second term. No other Republicans qualified.

The Democratic Party had no qualifiers.

State Auditor

Three Republicans are in the running for the nomination. It’s for an open seat because twice-elected state auditor Jim Zeigler has a limited term.

The Republican qualifiers are Jefferson County pastor Stan Cooke, former state senator and retired teacher Rusty Glover of Mobile, and state representative and business owner Andrew Sorrell of Muscle Shoals.

No Democrats qualified.

5 Alabama Supreme Court Square

The race is for an open seat. Associate Judge Michael F. Bolin is barred by an age limit of 70 from seeking another term.

The Republicans who qualified for the race are Greg Cook and Debra Jones.

Anita L. Kelly qualified for the Democratic primary.

Alabama Supreme Court Square 6

The incumbent, Justice Alisa Kelli Wise, is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

No Democrats qualified.

Public Service Commission Location 1

Commissioner Jeremy Oden, a Republican, is seeking re-election.

John Hammock, Stephen McLamb and Brent Woodall are also seeking the Republican nomination.

The Democratic Party does not list any qualifiers.

Public Service Commission Place 2

Commissioner Chip Beeker is seeking re-election. Beeker is a Republican.

The other qualifiers for the Republican primary are Robin Litaker and Robert L. McCollum.

No Democrats entered the race.


Comments are closed.