What are the final results of the first round of Georgian municipal elections?


The Georgian Central Election Commission (CEC) counted all the votes in the municipal elections on October 2.

According to the final results of the first round of the race, the ruling Georgian Dream (GD) party won 46.74% of the vote, the opposition United National Movement (UNM) party received 30.68% of the vote while that ex-PM Giorgi Gakharia’s For Georgia party won 7.79% of the vote.

All the other parties finished with less than three percent of the vote.

The second round of municipal elections on October 30 will take place in 20 of the 64 constituencies, including the five major cities of Georgia – Tbilisi, Kutaisi, Rustavi, Batumi and Poti.

The remaining 15 constituencies where the mayoral ballot will take place are: Telavi, Tianeti, Khashuri, Kareli, Tsageri, Bagdati, Tskaltubo, Ozurgeti, Senaki, Martvili, Khobi, Zugdidi, Tsalenjkha, Chkhorotsku and Khelvachauri.

The second round in 17 of the 20 constituencies will be between the DG and UNM candidates, while in three other constituencies, the DG candidates will pit representatives from For Georgia, For United Georgia and an independent candidate.

The GD won the vast majority of races in the Majority Municipal Assembly, where candidates had to get at least 40% of the vote to win in the first round.

In Zugdidi, in western Georgia, the UNM won enough seats in the city assembly to form a majority on its own.

In the municipal assemblies of Senaki, Rustavi and Batumi, parties will have to form coalitions to form a majority.

In Tsalenjikha, GD can still have the majority if he wins the seconds.

Municipal elections were held in Georgia under a mixed electoral system. Voters must complete three ballots: the first ballot is for mayoral candidates (who are elected on a 50% + 1 system). The winner is the candidate who will obtain at least 50% + 1 of the votes, otherwise a second round of the elections will take place).

The second ballot was intended for majority candidates in municipal assemblies – winners must get more than 40% of the vote in the first round of elections to win the race, otherwise a second round of elections will take place).

The third ballot was for parties, which needed at least 2.5% of the vote to secure seats in the Tbilisi City Assembly and 3% in other municipal assemblies across the country.

According to recent changes to the electoral code, 40 members of the Tbilisi City Assembly, which has 50 members, are elected according to the proportional electoral system, while the remaining 10 according to the majority electoral system (previously the proportion was of 25/25).

Source link


Comments are closed.