Which candidates put out bids for the County Courthouse and Statehouse seats during the filing window?

The Summit County Courthouse.
Park Record File Photo

Those campaigning for public office had until 5 p.m. Friday to officially launch their candidacies, and the candidate pool for county courthouse races is more balanced than in recent years.

Summit County voters will have the chance to hear from Republican, Democratic and Libertarian candidates this fall, marking the first time there has been a contested county race between the parties in two election cycles. Although a few county courthouse incumbents remain unchallenged, there has been increased interest in other positions.

County District Attorney Margaret Olson, Sheriff Justin Martinez and Clerk Evelyn Furse sought re-election midweek and face no challengers. Listener Michael Howard submitted his candidacy on Friday and will face Peoa resident Cindy Keyes for the Democratic party nomination — and seat, barring a successful write-in campaign — at the county convention in April.

Democratic delegates will also choose between former Snyderville Basin Planning Commissioner Canice Harte and longtime Parkite Coleen Reardon for the party’s nomination for Seat E on Summit County Council, currently held by Glenn Wright. Wright is not pursuing another county board term, but is seeking a Democratic Party nomination in the 3rd congressional district.

Republicans will choose between former mayor Francis Byron Ames and John “Jack” Murphy at the GOP convention to represent their party in the race.

A primary election will be held on June 28 if candidates from one or both parties fail to garner enough support from delegates at the county convention. Michael Franchek, who filed his candidacy as a libertarian, will appear on the November ballot.

Republican Holly McClure, meanwhile, is challenging Summit County Council Speaker Chris Robinson, a Democrat, for seat D.

Summit County voters are also responsible for electing representatives to several Statehouse positions.

Republicans Logan Wilde, incumbent lawmaker Kera Birkeland and Raelene Blocker are campaigning for House District 4, alongside Democrat Kris Campbell. Candidates for House District 23 include incumbent Brian King, a Democrat and House Minority Leader; Cabot Nelson of the United Utah Party; and Ruth Abbott, a Republican. Incumbents Mike Kohler and Scott Chew, both Republicans, are running uncontested for Districts 59 and 68, respectively.

The race for Senate District 20 is between incumbent Republican Ron Winterton and Democrat Jill Fellow.

Voters who want to change party affiliation before the primary election have until March 31 to update their information.


Comments are closed.